Korea Medical Tourism Is Dermatology, Not Plastic Surgery
Research & verification
We independently research information from publicly available sources. Claims are cross-checked against multiple sources where possible. When sources disagree, the disagreement is reported rather than resolved by assumption. LymyVoyage does not provide medical advice or make individual treatment recommendations.

LymyVoyage finding
Supported by the available data.
All figures originate in a single Ministry of Health and Welfare release of 24 April 2026; no independent body publishes a competing count of Korean foreign patients, and 2023 is a pandemic-depressed base that flatters every growth rate measured from it.
Korea's reputation abroad is built on cosmetic surgery. Television segments, before-and-after galleries and the clinic strips of Gangnam all point the same way.
The Korean government's own count says something different. In 2025 Korea recorded 2.01 million foreign patients, and dermatology accounted for 1.31 million of them. Plastic surgery accounted for 233,100.1
Korea treated 2.01 million foreign patients last year. Plastic surgery accounted for 11% of them. So what were the other 89% there for?
What the 2025 count actually found
The Ministry of Health and Welfare published its 2025 foreign patient figures on 24 April 2026.1 The headline is that Korea passed two million foreign patients for the first time since counting began in 2009. The cumulative total since then stands at 7.06 million.1
The growth is steep and recent. The ministry recorded 120,000 foreign patients in 2020, at the bottom of the pandemic. Then 610,000 in 2023, 1.17 million in 2024 and 2.01 million in 2025.1 That is a rise of 71.9% in the most recent year alone.2
The specialty split is where the popular account breaks down.
| Specialty | Foreign patients, 2025 | Share |
|---|---|---|
| Dermatology | 1,312,700 | 62.9% |
| Plastic surgery | 233,100 | 11.2% |
| Internal medicine | 192,208 | 9.2% |
| Health screening | 65,228 | 3.1% |
| Dentistry | 32,775 | not stated |
| Ophthalmology | 22,378 | not stated |
Ministry of Health and Welfare figures for 2025, with the dentistry and ophthalmology rows as reported from the same release by Travie.13
Ministry of Health and Welfare figures for 2025, as relayed by three outlets. The ministry counts 2.01 million patients and 2.72 million treatments, so published percentage shares do not recompute exactly from these totals.
Source: note 1
Show the numbers
| Item | Value |
|---|---|
| Dermatology | 1,312,700 patients |
| Plastic surgery | 233,100 patients |
| Internal medicine | 192,208 patients |
| Health screening | 65,228 patients |
| Dentistry | 32,775 patients |
| Ophthalmology | 22,378 patients |
The ratio flipped in two years
Dermatology did not simply grow. It changed position.
In 2023 Korea's foreign dermatology patients numbered 239,060. In 2024 the figure was 705,044. In 2025 it was 1,312,700.3 That is a rise of 449.1% across two years. The ministry puts the most recent year's growth at 86.2%.1
Plastic surgery grew too, from 114,074 in 2023 to 233,100 in 2025.3 The ministry puts its most recent year's growth at 64.3%, against dermatology's 86.2%.1 Set against dermatology's five-fold rise, it is what a flat share looks like next to a growing one.
The longer record makes the change clearer. The Korea Health Industry Development Institute is the government agency that compiles these statistics. Across the whole period from 2009 to 2024 it puts dermatology at 23% of foreign patient visits and plastic surgery at 12%.4 Dermatology's 2025 share is nearly three times its own long-run average.
Who is actually arriving
Two countries supply most of the demand. China sent 618,973 patients in 2025 and Japan 600,009, together 60.6% of the total.12 Chinese numbers rose 137.5% in a year.1
Taiwan follows with 185,715, the United States with 173,363 and Thailand with 58,124.12 American numbers rose 70.4%.
The activity is also geographically narrow. Seoul took 1.76 million of the patients, or 87.2%, with Busan next at 3.8%.1 Clinics rather than hospitals treated 87.7% of foreign patients.2 That last figure is consistent with a dermatology boom: skin treatment happens in a clinic, not a surgical ward.
What the headline numbers leave out
Patients and treatments are counted differently. The ministry reports 2.01 million people and 2.72 million on a treatment basis.1 Percentage shares quoted against different denominators will not reconcile exactly, and the published shares should be read as the ministry's own, not recomputed.
The money figure is an estimate, not a receipt. The ministry cites the Industrial Research Institute for an estimate that foreign patients and companions spent 12.5 trillion won on medical tourism, of which 3.3 trillion won was medical spending.1 The larger number includes travel and accommodation.
There is no independent count. Every figure above originates in the same Ministry of Health and Welfare release of 24 April 2026.1 Several outlets carry it, which is repetition rather than corroboration. The relays are not even identical: The Korea Times reported dermatology at 62% and about 1.25 million patients, against the 62.9% and 1.31 million carried elsewhere.5 No non-government body publishes a competing tally.
One year is not a trend. The 2023 base was depressed by the pandemic's aftermath, so growth rates measured from it will flatter any specialty. Dermatology's share has moved decisively, but a single boom year cannot establish where it settles.
How to use this when planning a trip
Price the thing most people actually go for. If the plan is skin treatment rather than surgery, compare clinic pricing in Seoul against clinic pricing at home. The volume statistic that applies to you is 1.31 million, not 233,100.
Check whether the provider is a clinic or a hospital, because 87.7% of foreign patients were treated in clinics.2 The two are regulated and staffed differently, and the distinction matters more for a procedure with a surgical component.
Expect Seoul. Nearly nine in ten foreign patients were treated there, so a package promising treatment elsewhere is an exception worth asking about.
And treat the specialty mix as the useful number. A destination that treats five dermatology patients for every surgical one is selling something different from what its reputation describes.
Footnotes
-
https://www.mohw.go.kr/board.es?mid=a10503010100&bid=0027&act=view&list_no=1490280 — Republic of Korea Ministry of Health and Welfare, "2025년 외국인 환자 유치 200만 돌파" press release (published Apr 24, 2026), citing the Industrial Research Institute for the spending estimate. Accessed Sep 23, 2026. ↩ ↩2 ↩3 ↩4 ↩5 ↩6 ↩7 ↩8 ↩9 ↩10 ↩11 ↩12 ↩13 ↩14
-
https://www.koreabiomed.com/news/articleView.html?idxno=31432 — Korea Biomedical Review, "Korea tops 2 million foreign patients for 1st time as aesthetics drive surge" (published Apr 24, 2026), citing Ministry of Health and Welfare data. Accessed Sep 23, 2026. ↩ ↩2 ↩3 ↩4 ↩5
-
https://en.travie.com/news/articleView.html?idxno=697 — Travie, "South Korea Medical Tourism Hits 2 Million Foreign Patients: 2026 SITMM Analysis" (published Sep 11, 2026), reporting figures presented at the Seoul International Travel Mart for Medical Tourism. Accessed Sep 23, 2026. ↩ ↩2 ↩3
-
https://www.medicalkorea.or.kr/en/global — Korea Health Industry Development Institute, "Medical Korea: Global", citing its "2024 Foreign Patient Attraction Statistical Analysis Report" (2025). Accessed Sep 23, 2026. ↩
-
https://www.koreatimes.co.kr/southkorea/20260424/foreign-patients-top-2-mil-for-1st-time-in-2025 — The Korea Times, "Foreign patients top 2 mil. for 1st time in 2025" (published Apr 24, 2026), citing Ministry of Health and Welfare data. Accessed Sep 23, 2026. ↩
Evidence at a glanceMethodology
| Statement | Source | Tier | Date | Status |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Korea recorded 2.01 million foreign patients in 2025 (2.72 million on a treatment basis), a 71.9% rise on 2024 and the first year above two million since counting began in 2009 | Republic of Korea Ministry of Health and Welfare press release1 | 1 | 2026-04-24 | Supported |
| Dermatology accounted for 1,312,700 foreign patients in Korea in 2025 (62.9%) against plastic surgery's 233,100 (11.2%) | Republic of Korea Ministry of Health and Welfare press release1 | 1 | 2026-04-24 | Supported |
| Dermatology's foreign patient count grew 86.2% year on year in 2025, against plastic surgery's 64.3% and internal medicine's 54.9% | Republic of Korea Ministry of Health and Welfare press release1 | 1 | 2026-04-24 | Supported |
| Korea's foreign dermatology patients rose from 239,060 in 2023 to 705,044 in 2024 to 1,312,700 in 2025, a 449.1% increase, while plastic surgery went from 114,074 to 233,100 | Travel trade outlet reporting figures presented at the Seoul International Travel Mart for Medical Tourism4 | 4 | 2026-09-11 | Supported |
| Across 2009 to 2024 dermatology was 23% of foreign patient visits to Korea and plastic surgery 12% | Korea Health Industry Development Institute, government agency statistics page citing its 2024 Foreign Patient Attraction Statistical Analysis Report5 | 1 | 2025 | Approximate |
| China sent 618,973 foreign patients to Korea in 2025 and Japan 600,009, together 60.6% of the total, with Taiwan at 185,715 and the United States at 173,363 | Republic of Korea Ministry of Health and Welfare press release1 | 1 | 2026-04-24 | Supported |
| Seoul treated 1.76 million of the foreign patients, 87.2% of the total, and clinics rather than hospitals treated 87.7% of them | Republic of Korea Ministry of Health and Welfare press release1 | 1 | 2026-04-24 | Supported |
| Outlets relaying the same ministry release do not agree exactly: The Korea Times reported dermatology at 62% and about 1.25 million patients, against the ministry's own 62.9% and 1.3127 million | National newspaper relaying a Ministry of Health and Welfare release6 | 4 | 2026-04-24 | Disputed |

