Breast Implant Warranty Abroad: Whose Terms Apply?

LymyVoyage finding

Partially supported by the available data.

Read from manufacturer terms for the US, Australia and New Zealand and two European-language versions as of October 2026; Allergan's own terms could not be opened, and no terms for Turkey or Mexico were found published.

Breast implant makers promise to replace a ruptured implant for life. Motiva's own US label, approved by the US Food and Drug Administration, says implants "are not considered lifetime devices".1 The promise comes from the manufacturer, not the clinic, so it should follow the patient home. Whether it does depends on terms that sit in PDFs on the makers' websites.

Plastic surgeon showing a sealed breast implant package to a patient, whose warranty terms depend on where it is fitted

We read six sets of warranty terms from Motiva, Mentor and Allergan, the three brands below. Each one is written for a particular market. Each one sets conditions on the surgeon, the paperwork and the deadlines. None of the terms reviewed says what happens to a patient who flies home after surgery abroad.

Six warranty documents compared

Warranty termsCovers implants implanted inRuptureMoney toward surgeryConditions
Motiva, US (Sept 2024)US and Puerto Rico2Free replacement for life2Up to $3,500 within 10 years2Surgeon pre-authorises before surgery; implant returned within 30 days; patient signs a release2
Motiva, Australia and New Zealand (Mar 2026)Australia and New Zealand3Free replacement for life3Up to $1,500 within 10 years3Surgeon's clinical report; ruptured implant sent to Costa Rica3
Motiva, Portuguese-language terms (2022)Not stated4Free replacement for life4None in the free warranty; $1,000 or $2,500 in paid plans bought within 90 days4Surgeon files the claim; implant returned within 10 days4
Mentor, German-language terms (2019)Not stated; issued by Mentor Deutschland5Free replacement, whatever the implant's age5Up to €1,000 within 10 years, paid via the surgeon5No cover for implants the doctor did not buy from Mentor5
Mentor, US saline (2021)US and Puerto Rico6Free replacement6$2,400 with a $200 plan bought within 45 days6Licensed physician; implant returned within 60 days6
Allergan Natrelle, US, as summarised by a US surgeon (2020)Not stated in the summary7Free replacement for life7Up to $3,500 within 10 years7Automatic enrolment7

The terms follow the operating table

Motiva's US programme "covers and applies to all Motiva breast implants that are implanted in patients in the United States or Puerto Rico".2 Its Australian and New Zealand terms apply to implants "implanted in patients in Australia or New Zealand".3 Mentor's US saline terms use the same wording for the US and Puerto Rico.6

So the deciding fact is where the operation happened, not where the patient lives. A US resident with Motiva implants fitted in Mexico is outside the US programme's own wording. That patient would fall under whatever terms, if any, Motiva applies to implants fitted in Mexico.

We looked for country terms for Turkey and Mexico on the three makers' sites and did not find any published. Motiva's Portuguese-language terms state no country at all.4

The surgeon files the claim

Under every set of Motiva terms reviewed, the claim runs through a surgeon. In the US, "the patient's surgeon must initiate the claims process and obtain pre-authorization in advance of any revision or explant surgery".2 The Portuguese-language terms also say the patient's surgeon registers the claim.4

The paperwork is specific. The US form asks for the implant's reference, serial and lot numbers, volume and type, signed by the treating surgeon.2 The removed implant has to be cleaned and sent back to the maker: within 30 days under the US terms,2 within 10 days under the Portuguese-language ones.4

Mentor's German-language terms add a twist on the money. Any financial help for a revision "must be applied for by your surgeon", and it is not a payment to the patient directly.5

After surgery abroad, that surgeon is usually at home. Nothing in the terms bars it, but they need the original implant details for the form.

What "lifetime" actually pays for

The lifetime promise is a replacement implant. The cash toward the operation is capped and time-limited.

Motiva's US programme pays up to $3,500 toward a rupture revision within 10 years.2 The Australian and New Zealand version pays up to $1,500,3 and Mentor's German-language terms €1,000.5 A US surgeon's 2020 summary puts Allergan's figure at up to $3,500 for rupture.7 We could not open Allergan's own terms to check it.

Motiva's Portuguese-language terms pay nothing toward surgery under the free warranty. Money comes only with a paid plan: $100 for two years and up to $1,000, or $200 for five years and up to $2,500.4 Both have to be bought and registered within 90 days of the operation.4

The deadlines that run out quietly

Motiva's US patients are enrolled once the surgeon uploads the implant details, and they confirm by email.2 The paid upgrades are different. Motiva's US Plus plan costs $250 and must be bought within 90 days.2 Mentor's US saline plan must be bought within 45 days.6

For a patient abroad, those are the weeks spent recovering and travelling home.

What the warranty terms leave out

  • No published terms for the main destinations. We found no Motiva, Mentor or Allergan terms for Turkey or Mexico.
  • Implants from outside the official channel. Mentor's German-language terms exclude implants the treating doctor did not obtain from Mentor or its authorised buyer.5
  • Surgery done "in strict accordance" with the instructions. Motiva's Portuguese-language terms exclude implants placed without following its directions for use.4 A patient has no way to check that from the recovery room.
  • The release. Motiva's US terms require the patient to sign a full release of further liability in return for the benefits.2
  • Rupture is uncommon early on. In Motiva's US study, the three-year risk of rupture was 0.6% per patient after a first augmentation.1 Risks grow the longer implants stay in, the same label says,1 so the warranty matters more in later years than in the first.

What to get before you leave the clinic

Ask for the implant card or sticker with the brand, model, serial and lot numbers for each side. Ask the clinic to confirm in writing that the implants were bought from the manufacturer or its authorised distributor.

Ask which country's warranty terms apply, and get a copy. Register the implants yourself if the maker allows it, and keep the confirmation email. Our article on breast augmentation in Turkey covers the other half of the record: the registry at home.

1 / 6

Motiva and Mentor promise a free replacement if an implant ruptures, for life. Does that promise still work if you had the surgery abroad?

Footnotes

  1. https://www.accessdata.fda.gov/cdrh_docs/pdf23/P230005C.pdf — Motiva USA and Establishment Labs, "Information for the Patient: Breast Augmentation with Motiva Implants", FDA-approved labeling (Jun 2024). Accessed Oct 29, 2026. ↩ ↩2 ↩3

  2. https://drupal.motivausa.com/sites/default/files/2024-09/Motiva%20USA%20Warranty%20Program_2024.09.26.pdf — Motiva USA, "Motiva USA Warranty Program" terms (effective Sep 26, 2024). Accessed Oct 29, 2026. ↩ ↩2 ↩3 ↩4 ↩5 ↩6 ↩7 ↩8 ↩9 ↩10 ↩11 ↩12

  3. https://app-cdn.motiva.health/documents/Motiva+New+warranties_ANZ+T%26C.pdf — Establishment Labs, "Motiva Health Warranty Program (Australia and New Zealand)" terms and conditions (effective Mar 1, 2026). Accessed Oct 29, 2026. ↩ ↩2 ↩3 ↩4 ↩5 ↩6

  4. https://website-cdn.motiva.health/wp-content/uploads/2023/01/PT_CAM-2473-Extended-Warranties-update.pdf — Establishment Labs, "Implantes mamários Motiva: Política de garantia e substituição do produto: Termos e condições" (Portuguese-language terms, dated Sep 2022). Accessed Oct 29, 2026. ↩ ↩2 ↩3 ↩4 ↩5 ↩6 ↩7 ↩8 ↩9 ↩10

  5. https://www.jnjmedtech.com/sites/default/files/user_uploaded_assets/pdf_assets/2020-01/2194066_Mentor%20Promise%20Protection%20Plan_FREIGABE_1.pdf — Mentor Deutschland, "MentorPromise-Schutzplan" patient information (German-language, Nov 2019). Accessed Oct 29, 2026. ↩ ↩2 ↩3 ↩4 ↩5 ↩6 ↩7

  6. https://www.jnjmedtech.com/system/files/pdf/MentorPromise%20Saline%20TandC%202021%20Final_0.pdf — Mentor Worldwide, "Mentor Promise and Mentor Promise Enhanced Protection Plan for Saline-Filled Breast Implants" (implants from Jan 1, 2021). Accessed Oct 29, 2026. ↩ ↩2 ↩3 ↩4 ↩5 ↩6

  7. https://www.editionplasticsurgery.com/journal/everything-you-need-to-know-about-breast-implant-warranties/ — Robert Schwartz, Edition Plastic Surgery (US practice), "Breast Implant Warranties: What Every Patient Should Know" (published Apr 4, 2020). Accessed Oct 29, 2026. ↩ ↩2 ↩3 ↩4 ↩5

Evidence at a glanceMethodology

StatementSourceTierDateStatus
Motiva's US warranty programme applies to implants implanted in patients in the United States or Puerto Rico, and its Australia and New Zealand terms to implants implanted thereManufacturer warranty terms2 (Archived copy)32024-09Supported
Mentor's US saline warranty terms apply to implants acquired directly from Mentor and implanted in the United States including Puerto Rico; the paid Enhanced Plan ($200, up to $2,400) must be bought within 45 daysManufacturer warranty terms432021Approximate
Under Motiva's US terms the patient's surgeon must initiate the claim and obtain pre-authorisation before any revision, return the explanted implant within 30 days, and the patient must sign a releaseManufacturer warranty terms2 (Archived copy)32024-09Supported
Financial assistance toward a rupture revision is capped at up to $3,500 within 10 years (Motiva US), up to $1,500 (Motiva Australia and New Zealand) and up to EUR 1,000 (Mentor German-language terms)Manufacturer warranty terms232024-09Supported
Motiva's Portuguese-language terms give no money toward surgery under the free warranty; paid plans of $100 (up to $1,000) or $200 (up to $2,500) must be bought and registered within 90 days, and the explanted implant returned within 10 daysManufacturer warranty terms3 (Archived copy)32022-09Approximate
Mentor's German-language terms pay financial help via the surgeon, not to the patient, and exclude implants not obtained from Mentor by the treating doctor or their authorised buyerManufacturer patient information532019-11Approximate
Allergan's ConfidencePlus pays up to $3,500 toward rupture surgery within 10 years, as summarised by a US surgeon in 2020Plastic surgery practice blog642020-04Approximate
No published Motiva, Mentor or Allergan warranty terms for implants fitted in Turkey or Mexico were foundSearch of manufacturer sites by this publication332026-10Approximate
In Motiva's US study, the three-year risk of rupture was 0.6% per patient after primary augmentationFDA-approved patient labeling712024-06Approximate
By Arthur Harmash7 min read

Reviewed by Arthur Harmash, October 29, 2026

Research compiled with AI assistance; facts and sources verified by Arthur Harmash.

Research & verification

We independently research information from publicly available sources. Claims are cross-checked against multiple sources where possible. When sources disagree, the disagreement is reported rather than resolved by assumption. LymyVoyage does not provide medical advice or make individual treatment recommendations.

Share:

Enjoyed this? Get more like it

Occasional emails, no spam -- just new articles as they're published.

More from Treatment Types

Man in a beanie at an Istanbul hotel desk reading his clinic's hair transplant warranty certificate
Treatment Types

Hair Transplant Guarantee: What Turkish Clinics Actually Promise

One Turkish clinic redoes grafts only if under 80% grow by month 15, and lists 18 ways to void it. Another promises 98% for life but publishes no terms.

7 min read
Patient holding her stomach on a hospital bed as a nurse offers water, a reason a gastric balloon is removed early
Treatment Types

Gastric Balloon Removed Early: Rates From 2% to 19%

Studies put early removal at 2.3% for the swallowed Allurion balloon and 16.6-18.8% for Spatz3 and Orbera in FDA trials. The counts are not like for like.

8 min read
Technician lifting donor sperm samples from a liquid nitrogen tank at a sperm bank, where a sperm donation limit applies
Treatment Types

Sperm Donor Limit: Spain 6, UK 10, a Danish Bank 75 Worldwide

Spain caps a donor at six children and the UK at ten families, but only at home. A Danish bank allows 75 families worldwide. ESHRE proposes an EU cap of 50.

7 min read

Comments

Loading comments…