Newsweek Ranked Turkish Hospitals for the First Time in 2026: What the Scores Can and Cannot Compare
Reviewed by Arthur Harmash, September 12, 2026
Research compiled with AI assistance; facts and sources verified by Arthur Harmash.
Research & verification
We independently research information from publicly available sources. Claims are cross-checked against multiple sources where possible. When sources disagree, the disagreement is reported rather than resolved by assumption. LymyVoyage does not provide medical advice or make individual treatment recommendations.
LymyVoyage finding
Not substantiated by the available data.
Turkey's first-time inclusion and its hospitals' positions are well documented, but the premise that the ranking provides a cross-border benchmark for medical tourists is contradicted by Statista's own methodology, which states scores are comparable only within the same country.
If you are researching a hospital in Istanbul from a kitchen table in Manchester or Munich, the hard part is not finding claims. It is finding a claim somebody other than the seller made. Clinic websites carry accreditation badges. Facilitator platforms publish their own "best hospital" lists. Testimonials are curated by the people being reviewed. So when Newsweek and Statista added Turkey to the World's Best Hospitals ranking for the first time in the 2026 edition — 2,530 hospitals across 32 countries, scored by an outside research firm that is not selling treatment — it looked like the missing piece: an independent scoreboard.12
It is genuinely new, and genuinely independent of the hospitals it scores. But read the methodology document Statista publishes alongside the list and you find a sentence that quietly removes the use most medical tourists would want to put it to.
An outside research firm just scored Turkish hospitals for the first time, and three made the world's top 250. Finally, a hospital ranking nobody in the medical tourism business paid for. So can you now compare a hospital in Istanbul with one in Munich?
What the 2026 edition changed
World's Best Hospitals is in its eighth edition. The 2026 list, published 3 March 2026 after a 25 February announcement, ranks 2,530 hospitals in 32 countries. How many hospitals each country gets varies with the size of its hospital sector and the data available: the United States gets a top 420, Germany a top 220, Japan a top 200, Israel and Singapore a top 10 each.123 Turkey and the Philippines are this year's two additions, and Turkey was allotted a top 35.1
Each hospital's score comes from four weighted pillars:12
| Pillar | Weight | What it is |
|---|---|---|
| Hospital quality metrics | 40% | Publicly available data on quality of care for specific treatments, hygiene and patient-safety measures, patients per doctor/nurse — different metrics in each country |
| Peer recommendations | 35% (30% national + 5% international) | An online survey of doctors, hospital managers and other healthcare professionals, who may not recommend their own employer |
| Patient experience | 18.5% | Existing patient surveys, typically run by insurers after hospitalisation |
| PROMs implementation | 6.5% | Statista's own survey of whether a hospital collects, audits and uses patient-reported outcome measures |
Two of those weights moved this year: Statista raised the hospital-quality-metrics pillar "to reflect the emphasis on hospital quality indicators," and raised PROMs implementation too.1 For the peer survey, Statista says it invited more than 100,000 medical professionals across the 32 countries between September and November 2025, also promoting the survey on newsweek.com; 2023 and 2024 recommendations were carried forward at a lower weight than 2025's. The list reflects the 2025 calendar year.1
The global Top 250 is built differently. It is determined "mainly based on the number of international recommendations received in the survey and their national rank," plus pillars for quality-metric and patient-experience excellence (hospitals in the top 20% of their own country), PROMs excellence, and a bibliometric score — publications, citations and h-index from the database Exaly — included "as a proxy for reputation." Specialised hospitals are excluded.1
Where Turkey landed
Three Turkish hospitals entered the global Top 250 for the first time: Koç University Hospital at 213 and Hacettepe University Hospital at 234 — both positions published by Turkey's Council of Higher Education (YÖK) as well as in independent trade coverage — plus Anadolu Medical Center, a Johns Hopkins Medicine affiliate in Gebze and the only non-university hospital of the three.45 Trade publication TBMag places Anadolu at 248; no second source confirmed that exact position, though its Top 250 inclusion and third-place national rank are confirmed by the national list itself.53
The top ten of Turkey's national list:3
| Rank | Hospital | Score | City |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Koç University Hospital | 91.80% | Istanbul |
| 2 | Hacettepe University Hospital | 83.54% | Ankara |
| 3 | Anadolu Medical Center Hospital | 82.10% | Gebze |
| 4 | Medipol Mega Hospitals Complex | 82.02% | Istanbul |
| 5 | Acıbadem International Hospital | 79.66% | Istanbul |
| 6 | Acıbadem Altunizade Hospital | 79.19% | Istanbul |
| 7 | Acıbadem University Hospital Atakent | 79.13% | Istanbul |
| 8 | American Hospital | 78.54% | Istanbul |
| 9 | Liv Hospital | 77.97% | Istanbul |
| 10 | Yeditepe University Hospital | 77.79% | Istanbul |
The full 35 are geographically narrow. Counting the published list city by city: 24 are in Istanbul, eight in Ankara, two in İzmir and one in Gebze.3 Antalya — a city whose dental and cosmetic clinics are a core part of Turkey's treatment-travel economy — has none. The list is also concentrated by operator: eight of the 35 entries are Acıbadem hospitals, and 23 of the 35 belong to private hospital groups (Acıbadem, Memorial, Medipol, Liv, Medical Park, Medicana, Anadolu, American Hospital, Florence Nightingale) — the same operators that run Turkey's international patient departments.3
The sentence that undoes the comparison
Here is the line, from Statista's own methodology document:
Scores are comparable only within the same country, since each country relies on different sources for patient experience and hospital quality metrics. These structural differences prevent a meaningful standardization of the data across countries. Therefore, scores cannot be compared between countries (example: a score of 90 in country A does not necessarily reflect higher performance than a score of 87 in country B).1
That is not buried in an appendix; it is on the summary page of the published methodology. And it lands directly on the use a medical tourist would make of the list. Koç University Hospital scores 91.80% in Turkey.3 Charité – Universitätsmedizin Berlin scores 92.59% in Germany; Mayo Clinic – Rochester scores 96.28% in the United States.1 Those three numbers look like they sit on one scale. They do not. They are three separate scales that happen to share units.
The national lists answer a real question — which hospitals inside this country score highest on these four pillars? — and for Turkey that question had no independent answer before 2026. The cross-border question they cannot answer, and the global Top 250 does not fill the gap: it is driven mainly by international recommendations collected in a survey of doctors, which is a reputation measure, not an outcome measure.1
Turkey's score is built from different ingredients
The comparability warning is not an abstraction. The methodology's own footnotes spell out exactly which pillars were unavailable where, and Turkey appears in both lists of exceptions.
On the 40% pillar: "Only accreditations and no hospital quality metrics were available for Chile, Colombia, India, Malaysia, Mexico, Netherlands, Saudi Arabia, the Philippines, Taiwan, Thailand, and Turkey."1 So the heaviest component of a Turkish hospital's score — the one Statista deliberately increased this year to emphasise measured quality — is filled by which accreditation certificates the hospital holds. That is the same badge-counting a patient can already do from a clinic's own website, now weighted at 40% inside a score that reads as an outcomes assessment.
On the 18.5% pillar: official patient-experience data was unavailable for a long list of countries including Turkey, and "in these countries, Google reviews serve as a substitute but were considered with a lower weight in the scoring model." A facility needed at least 10 published reviews to score on that pillar, with a Bayesian adjustment for facilities with very different review volumes.1
Contrast the United States, where the same 2026 edition pulled in Leapfrog Hospital Safety and Quality data, additional CMS metrics on hospital harm, venous thromboembolism and antithrombotic care, and — for the separate US Patient Experience Award — the ten composite measures of the federal HCAHPS survey.1 A US hospital's 40% quality pillar is built from federally reported infection and harm data. A Turkish hospital's is built from certificates. Both produce a percentage.
Which accreditations filled the gap
Statista added two Turkey-specific accreditations for this edition: the American Accreditation Commission International (AACI), also newly added for India and Thailand, and the Türkiye Health Care Quality and Accreditation Institute (TÜSKA).1
TÜSKA is a domestic body — one of nine institutes under TUSEB, the Turkish health research authority, which sits under the Ministry of Health. So a Turkish government institute supplies part of the evidence that Turkish hospitals are good, which is structurally different from an external auditor, though TÜSKA's standard sets do carry ISQua EEA accreditation, meaning the standards themselves have been externally reviewed.6 Its published register lists 34 accredited facilities across all its programme types — hospitals, dental services, haemodialysis, laboratories, outpatient care — so the number of accredited hospitals is smaller still, against a Turkish hospital sector numbering in the hundreds.7
AACI's registry is similarly thin for Turkey, and its composition is telling: mostly dental clinics, plus one hair-transplant clinic, plus two university hospitals — İstanbul Atlas and İstanbul Okan.8 Neither of those hospitals appears anywhere in Newsweek's Turkish top 35.3 The accreditation added to strengthen Turkey's quality pillar is held, in practice, largely by the treatment-travel clinics the ranking does not cover.
For the better-known badge, JCI, no count could be verified. Newsweek's own reporting states Turkey has "over 35" JCI-accredited hospitals;9 Joint Commission International's searchable directory, which would settle it, returns HTTP 403 to automated requests, so that figure stands here as Newsweek's claim, not a verified total.
What the list does not cover at all
The ranking ranks hospitals. The large majority of people who travel to Turkey for treatment are not going to a hospital in any sense the ranking recognises.
Turkey's own figures for the scale of that flow disagree sharply. Türkiye Today, citing the Ministry of Trade, reports 1.5 million health tourists in 2024 generating $3 billion.10 Turkish health-media outlet New Health Media, citing a February 2024 Ministry of Health announcement and the Turkish Statistical Institute, reports roughly 2 million health tourists and $10 billion.11 The patient counts are within a third of each other; the revenue figures differ by more than 3x. That points to different definitions rather than different measurements — treatment-only revenue against revenue that also captures travel, accommodation and accompanying persons; treatment-motivated travellers against all visitors who received care. Neither ministry publishes a dataset separating the two, so averaging them would invent a number neither reported.
What both accounts agree on is composition. New Health Media's breakdown puts aesthetic surgery at 35% of the sector, dental treatment at 25% and eye health at 20%.11 Those are overwhelmingly delivered in standalone clinics and outpatient centres, not the tertiary hospitals a World's Best Hospitals list evaluates. And specialised hospitals, where a foreign oncology or cardiac patient might well end up, are excluded from the global Top 250 because "their clinical focus and case mix vary substantially."1
Newsweek's own reporting on Anadolu Medical Center — one of the three Turkish hospitals in the global Top 250 — says it treats about 10,000 international patients a year, and that Turkish patients make up 90% of its total volume.9
One of the three Turkish hospitals in the world's top 250 treats roughly 10,000 foreign patients a year — under 1% of the 1.5 million health visitors Turkey's Ministry of Trade counted in 2024.910
There is also a regulatory signal worth reading. In April 2025, Turkey's Health Ministry circulated draft rules that would make accreditation mandatory for all providers and physicians working in medical tourism, require facilities and intermediary agencies to join a "HealthTürkiye" portal, mandate complication and travel health insurance for international patients, and introduce recurring audits with sanctions up to licence revocation.12 A government does not draft mandatory-accreditation rules for a sector where accreditation is already universal.
The comparison that does cross borders — with a caveat
There is a dataset built specifically to be compared across countries, and Turkey is in it. The OECD collects harmonised quality and outcome indicators from member countries, including 30-day mortality after acute myocardial infarction and timeliness of hip-fracture surgery. The figures below come directly from the OECD's SDMX data API rather than a published summary — age-standardised, both sexes, 2023 unless noted:13
| Country | AMI 30-day mortality, same admission (per 100 admissions, age 45+) | AMI 30-day mortality, in- and out-of-hospital (per 100 patients, age 45+) | Hip-fracture surgery within 2 days (per 100 patients, age 65+) |
|---|---|---|---|
| Türkiye | 6.0 (5.8 in 2024) | 8.4 (8.2 in 2024) | 66.1 (73.3 in 2024) |
| United States | 5.2 (2022; 2023 not reported) | not reported | not reported |
| Germany | 7.9 | not reported | 93.8 |
| United Kingdom | 6.4 | 8.3 | 75.6 |
| Italy | 4.7 | 6.5 | 72.4 |
| South Korea | 8.4 | 10.2 | not reported |
| Israel | 4.5 | 6.5 | 91.4 |
| Mexico | 22.6 | not reported | not reported |
On the heart-attack measure Turkish hospitals record lower 30-day mortality than German or British ones, and on the linked measure Turkey (8.4) and the UK (8.3) are level. On the hip-fracture process measure Turkey sits mid-table, well behind Germany. That is a more informative picture than any percentage on the Newsweek list, and it points somewhere worth stating plainly: the question the ranking cannot answer is not one where Turkish hospital care looks weak.
But the same indicator has a documented comparability problem, and the criticism is peer-reviewed. Stolpe and colleagues, writing in Clinical Research in Cardiology in 2023, compared nine European countries and concluded the OECD's unlinked AMI 30-day mortality indicator "is neither comparable between countries nor suitable as indicator for quality of acute care." Their evidence: countries define day cases inconsistently; average length of stay ranged from 3.4 days in Norway to 9.9 in Germany, and length of stay alone explained almost 60% of the variation in reported mortality (adjusted R² = 0.56); inter-hospital transfer rates ranged from 17% in Germany to 72% in Denmark, and higher transfer rates inflate the denominator while the death count stays fixed, pushing the reported rate down.14 Turkey was not among the nine countries examined, so the size of any equivalent distortion in the Turkish figures is unknown.
The table shows the same problem from another angle: switching from the unlinked to the linked measure moves Turkey's figure from 6.0 to 8.4, because the linked version counts deaths after discharge. The measurement choice is worth about 2.4 percentage points — larger than most of the gaps between countries in that column.
Who benefits from the seal
The ranking is compiled by a research firm with no stake in any hospital, which is exactly why it beats a facilitator's self-published list. But money enters after the scoring. Hospitals that make a Statista/Newsweek ranking are invited to an award portal where they can purchase a logo licence plus "a comprehensive package including the official award logo, a custom certificate and a prestigious trophy," for use on websites, social media and marketing materials. Statista states the relationship directly: "Since our rankings and ratings are researched and compiled independently, only awarded organizations have the opportunity to license the logo."15
Take that at face value — the sequence is score first, sell second. What it means is that the badge a patient meets in a hospital's marketing is a purchased asset derived from an independent score, and the marketing will not carry the comparability caveat. Newsweek's own follow-up illustrates the drift: a March 2026 article on Turkey's hospitals reports patient volumes, accreditation counts and rankings, with no discussion of unregulated clinics, the ranked-versus-unranked gap, or how a patient should read the scores.9 Statista's legal disclaimer is more careful, stating the results "should not be used as the sole source of information."1
How to use the 2026 list
What it is good for: a defensible shortlist of Turkish hospitals an outside firm — not a facilitator, not the hospital — placed near the top of their own national field, which did not exist in this form before 2026. It also says something real about reputation among clinicians, since global Top 250 placement runs mainly on recommendations from doctors abroad, who have no commercial reason to name a hospital in Istanbul. And the pillars are published, so you can see what the number is made of.
What it is not good for: comparing a Turkish score with a German or American one, because the methodology says you cannot and the ingredients differ; reading a Turkish hospital's score as an outcomes measurement, when its heaviest pillar is accreditation certificates and its patient-experience pillar is Google reviews; and transferring to any facility not on it — if the quote in your inbox came from a hair-transplant, dental or cosmetic clinic, this ranking contains no information about it, however many hospital seals appear on the page.
The practical move: shortlist from the national list, then ask each shortlisted hospital for the three things the ranking could not capture — its own complication and revision rates for your specific procedure, what its accreditation actually audited and when it was last surveyed, and who is contractually responsible for follow-up and revision care once you have flown home. Those answers are in no ranking. They are the ones that decide what the trip costs you.
Footnotes
-
https://assets.newsweek.com/wp-content/uploads/2026/02/Worlds-Best-Hospitals-2026-short-Methodology-1.pdf — Statista and Newsweek, "Methodology – World's Best Hospitals 2026: Scope, Data Collection, Evaluation, and Results" (published Feb 2026). Accessed Sep 12, 2026. ↩ ↩2 ↩3 ↩4 ↩5 ↩6 ↩7 ↩8 ↩9 ↩10 ↩11 ↩12 ↩13 ↩14 ↩15 ↩16
-
https://www.globenewswire.com/news-release/2026/02/25/3244736/0/en/Newsweek-and-Statista-Announce-World-s-Best-Hospitals-2026-Expanding-Global-Reach-and-Elevating-Patient-Reported-Outcomes-in-Evaluations.html — Newsweek and Statista, "Newsweek and Statista Announce World's Best Hospitals 2026, Expanding Global Reach and Elevating Patient-Reported Outcomes in Evaluations" (published Feb 25, 2026), distributed via GlobeNewswire. Accessed Sep 12, 2026. ↩ ↩2 ↩3
-
https://rankings.newsweek.com/worlds-best-hospitals-2026/turkey — Newsweek and Statista, "World's Best Hospitals 2026 – Turkey" (published Mar 2026). Accessed Sep 12, 2026. ↩ ↩2 ↩3 ↩4 ↩5 ↩6 ↩7
-
https://www.yok.gov.tr/en/news/university-hospitals-rank-among-worlds-best-hospitals-bw0Xi — Council of Higher Education of Türkiye (YÖK), "University Hospitals Rank Among World's Best Hospitals" (published Mar 2026), reporting the Newsweek–Statista ranking. Accessed Sep 12, 2026. ↩
-
https://tbmag.co.uk/turkey-best-hospitals-world-ranking-newsweek-2026-health-tourism-analysis/ — TBMag, "World Class and World Apart: Turkey's Hospitals Enter the Global Top 250 — But the Health Tourism Gap Remains" (published Mar 12, 2026), reporting the Newsweek–Statista ranking. Accessed Sep 12, 2026. ↩ ↩2
-
https://tuska.tuseb.gov.tr/ — Türkiye Sağlık Hizmetleri Kalite ve Akreditasyon Enstitüsü (TÜSKA, Türkiye Health Care Quality and Accreditation Institute), institute homepage and about pages. Accessed Sep 12, 2026. ↩
-
https://tuska.tuseb.gov.tr/akredite-kuruluslar — TÜSKA, "Akredite Kuruluşlar" (register of accredited organisations). Accessed Sep 12, 2026. ↩
-
https://aacihealthcare.com/accredited-certified-organizations/ — American Accreditation Commission International, "Accredited / Certified Organizations" registry. Accessed Sep 12, 2026. ↩
-
https://www.newsweek.com/turkey-medical-tourism-top-hospitals-global-ranking-11722772 — Katherine Fung, Newsweek, "Turkey's hospitals have built something the world can't ignore" (published Mar 25, 2026). Accessed Sep 12, 2026. ↩ ↩2 ↩3 ↩4
-
https://www.turkiyetoday.com/lifestyle/15-million-health-tourists-visited-turkiye-last-year-generating-3-billion-in-revenue-3203166 — Türkiye Today, "1.5M health tourists visit Türkiye in 2024, generating $3B in revenue" (published Jun 20, 2025), citing Türkiye's Ministry of Trade. Accessed Sep 12, 2026. ↩ ↩2
-
https://www.newhealth.media/en/blog/turkeys-2024-health-tourism-data — New Health Media, "Turkey's 2024 Health Tourism Data" (published Feb 12, 2025), citing a Ministry of Health announcement of Feb 9, 2024 and Turkish Statistical Institute (TÜİK) data. Accessed Sep 12, 2026. ↩ ↩2
-
https://www.hurriyetdailynews.com/turkiye-moves-to-tighten-regulations-to-boost-health-tourism-207557 — Hürriyet Daily News, "Türkiye moves to tighten regulations to boost health tourism" (published Apr 1, 2025), reporting draft Health Ministry regulations. Accessed Sep 12, 2026. ↩
-
https://sdmx.oecd.org/public/rest/data/OECD.ELS.HD,DSD_HCQO@DF_AC,/all?startPeriod=2021&dimensionAtObservation=AllDimensions&format=csvfilewithlabels — Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development, Health Care Quality and Outcomes database, "Acute care" dataflow (DSD_HCQO@DF_AC), retrieved via the OECD SDMX API. Accessed Sep 12, 2026. ↩
-
https://pmc.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/articles/PMC11579078/ — Susanne Stolpe et al., "OECD indicator 'AMI 30-day mortality' is neither comparable between countries nor suitable as indicator for quality of acute care," Clinical Research in Cardiology (published Sep 8, 2023). Accessed Sep 12, 2026. ↩
-
https://rankings.statista.com/en/award-portal-login/ — Statista, "Award Portal" (logo licensing for awarded organisations). Accessed Sep 12, 2026. ↩
Evidence at a glanceMethodology
| Statement | Source | Tier | Date | Status |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| The Newsweek-Statista World's Best Hospitals 2026 ranking covers 2,530 hospitals across 32 countries and included Turkish hospitals for the first time, allotting Turkey a top-35 national list | Ranking publisher's own published methodology document (Statista, established research body)1 | 2 | 2026-02 | Supported |
| Statista's published methodology states that World's Best Hospitals scores are comparable only within the same country and cannot be compared between countries, because each country relies on different sources for patient experience and hospital quality metrics | Ranking publisher's own published methodology document1 | 2 | 2026-02 | Approximate |
| For Turkey, only accreditations and no hospital quality metrics were available for the pillar that carries 40% of a hospital's score, and official patient-experience data was unavailable so Google reviews were substituted at a lower weight (minimum 10 published reviews) | Ranking publisher's own published methodology document, footnotes to the quality-metrics and patient-experience pillars1 | 2 | 2026-02 | Approximate |
| Koç University Hospital placed 213th and Hacettepe University Hospital 234th in the global Top 250 of World's Best Hospitals 2026, Turkey's first entries on that list | Government higher-education regulator (Council of Higher Education of Türkiye), reporting the Newsweek-Statista ranking4 | 1 | 2026-03 | Supported |
| Turkey's 35-hospital national list is concentrated in Istanbul (24 entries), Ankara (8), İzmir (2) and Gebze (1), with no ranked hospital in Antalya, and 23 of the 35 belong to private hospital groups | Ranking publisher's published national list (counted entry by entry)3 | 2 | 2026-03 | Supported |
| Turkey's 2024 international health-patient volume and revenue are reported inconsistently by Turkish government bodies: the Ministry of Trade figure is 1.5 million patients and $3 billion, while a Ministry of Health announcement and TÜİK data are reported as roughly 2 million patients and $10 billion | News report citing Türkiye's Ministry of Trade10 | 4 | 2025-06-20 | Disputed |
| On the OECD's harmonised indicator, 30-day mortality after acute myocardial infarction within the same hospital admission (age-standardised, 45+, 2023) was 6.0 per 100 admissions in Türkiye, 7.9 in Germany, 6.4 in the United Kingdom and 5.2 in the United States (2022) | Intergovernmental statistical database (OECD Health Care Quality and Outcomes, Acute care dataflow), retrieved directly via the OECD SDMX API13 | 1 | 2026 | Approximate |
| A peer-reviewed analysis of nine European countries concludes the OECD's unlinked AMI 30-day mortality indicator is not comparable between countries, finding that average length of stay alone explained almost 60% of the variation in reported mortality (adjusted R-squared 0.56) and that inter-hospital transfer rates ranged from 17% in Germany to 72% in Denmark | Peer-reviewed journal article (Clinical Research in Cardiology)14 | 1 | 2023-09-08 | Approximate |
| Anadolu Medical Center, one of the three Turkish hospitals in the global Top 250, treats roughly 10,000 international patients a year, with Turkish patients making up 90% of its total volume -- under 1% of the 1.5 million health visitors Turkey's Ministry of Trade counted for 2024 | News reporting by the ranking's publisher9 | 4 | 2026-03-25 | Approximate |
| Hospitals that appear in a Statista/Newsweek ranking may purchase a licence to use the award logo in their own marketing; Statista states that because its rankings are compiled independently, only awarded organisations have the opportunity to license the logo | Ranking publisher's own award/licensing portal15 | 2 | 2026 | Approximate |
| TÜSKA, one of the two Turkey-specific accreditations added to the 2026 ranking's quality pillar, is a Turkish government institute operating under TUSEB within the Ministry of Health, and its public register lists 34 accredited facilities across all of its programme types | Government accreditation institute's own public register7 | 1 | 2026 | Approximate |
Enjoyed this? Get more like it
Occasional emails, no spam -- just new articles as they're published.
Comments
Loading comments…