Breast Reduction Cost: NHS and Insurer Rules Decide Who Pays

LymyVoyage finding

Supported by the available data.

The NHS and insurer criteria are quoted from the policies themselves; they vary by area and insurer, and the US plastic surgeons' society disputes the weight-based tests.

For many women, the biggest number in a breast reduction is not the price. It is the threshold that decides whether someone else pays it.

Woman facing a consultant with a criteria clipboard and tape measure, before breast reduction in Mexico or Turkey

In parts of England, the NHS funds the operation only for a BMI (body mass index) under 27 and a bra cup size above GG. The surgeon must also plan to remove at least 500 g from each breast. Many US insurers use a sliding scale that sets the grams against body size. The surgeons' own professional body in the US says weight removed should not decide it at all.

Women who fail those tests pay themselves. That is when prices in Mexico and Turkey enter the picture. This article sets the funding rules side by side, then the self-pay prices, as of October 2026.

Who pays, under which rules

NHS Central East ICB (England)NHS Humber and North Yorkshire ICBAetna (US insurer)American Society of Plastic Surgeons' recommendation
Body mass indexUnder 27, stable 12 months1Under 30, or under 35 with waist-to-height ratio under 0.5, for 12 months2Not a listed criterion3Should not decide coverage4
Breast size or weight removedAbove GG cup; 500 g or more per breast, or 4 cup sizes1500 g or more per breast, or 4 cup sizes2Schnur scale by body surface area; any amount over 1 kg3Should not decide coverage4
Conservative treatment firstFitted bra for 3 months; physiotherapy1Fitted bra23-month trial of treatments3Should not be required4
SymptomsFunctional symptoms needing treatment1Symptoms required2At least two body areas, for a year3At least two documented symptoms4
SmokingNon-smoker for 6 months1Written warning on risk2Not stated in criteria reviewed3Not stated in criteria reviewed4

The NHS: criteria set area by area

In England, local integrated care boards decide which operations the NHS funds. Each board writes its own policy for breast reduction.

The Central East board covers Cambridgeshire, Peterborough, Bedfordshire, Luton, Milton Keynes and Hertfordshire. Its policy, ratified on 1 April 2026, funds surgery only when every criterion is met.1 Patients must be 18 or over, with a BMI under 27 that has been stable for at least 12 months.1 At least one breast must be larger than a GG cup.1

The planned reduction must be at least 500 g per breast, or at least four cup sizes.1 Where back or shoulder pain is the problem, the patient must have tried a professionally fitted bra for three months and completed a physiotherapy assessment.1 She must have been a non-smoker for more than six months.1

Humber and North Yorkshire sets a different BMI line. Its policy, effective from March 2025, accepts a BMI under 30, or under 35 where the waist-to-height ratio is under 0.5.2 It shares the 500 g or four-cup-size test.2

So the same woman can qualify in York and be refused in Cambridge. The Central East policy allows an individual funding request for exceptional cases.1

US insurers: the Schnur scale

Many US insurers adopted the Schnur sliding scale, and many still use it, according to the American Society of Plastic Surgeons.4 It sets a minimum weight of tissue to be removed against the patient's body surface area, a measure calculated from height and weight.

Aetna's policy shows how it works. At a body surface area of 1.6 square metres, it requires an estimated 460 g per breast. At 2.0 square metres, it requires 935 g.3 Above 1 kg per breast, the scale is waived for women with qualifying symptoms.3

Aetna also requires symptoms in at least two body areas for at least a year, and a three-month trial of other treatments such as painkillers or physiotherapy.3

What the surgeons' own guidance says

The American Society of Plastic Surgeons published recommended coverage criteria in 2011 and reaffirmed them in March 2021.4 They reject the main tests used in both countries.

The society says the Schnur scale assumed bigger breasts meant worse symptoms, and that later research "proved this assumption untrue."4 It cites studies in which women with less than 500 g removed got equivalent relief to those with more.4

Its recommendation is to base coverage on at least two documented symptoms, "regardless of body weight or weight of breast tissue removed."4 It also says non-operative treatments should not be required first.4

That is a professional society's position, not a payer's. It shows that the 500 g line used by NHS boards is a funding rule, not a clinical threshold the society accepts.

What self-pay costs

Women who do not qualify pay the whole bill.

In the UK, Nuffield Health's Leeds hospital gives a guide price of £9,020, including the consultation.5 TreatCompare, a UK price-comparison site, puts private hospital prices at £6,000 to £9,000 in May 2026.6

In the US, the American Society of Plastic Surgeons gives an average surgeon's fee of $7,800 for cosmetic breast reduction.7 That excludes anaesthesia and the operating room, so the total is higher.7

Abroad, the medical-travel marketplace Bookimed lists breast reduction in Tijuana, Mexico, at $3,800 to $4,000 as of October 2026.8 Packages typically include the surgeon, anaesthesia, a hospital stay and compression garments, it says.8 Clinics United in Antalya, Turkey, lists a package at about €3,950, including one night in hospital and four in a hotel.9

Self-pay breast reduction: UK private hospitals against packages in Mexico and Turkey
LowHigh
UK private hospitals (TreatCompare)£6,000 / £9,000
UK: Nuffield Health Leeds guide price£9,020 / £9,020
Turkey: Clinics United package£2,976 / £3,359
Mexico: Tijuana listings£2,879 / £3,030

Mexico and Turkey prices converted by this publication at ECB reference rates for 2 Oct 2026. Packages abroad include hotel nights; UK prices do not include travel. US average surgeon fee ($7,800) is not shown because it excludes anaesthesia and the operating room.

Source: note 7

Show the numbers
ItemLowHigh
UK private hospitals (TreatCompare)£6,000£9,000
UK: Nuffield Health Leeds guide price£9,020£9,020
Turkey: Clinics United package£2,976£3,359
Mexico: Tijuana listings£2,879£3,030

What the headline criteria leave out

Weight removed is linked to complications. The BRAVO study, published in 2005, followed 179 US patients after breast reduction.10 It found an overall complication rate of 43%.10 Each tenfold increase in resection weight raised the risk of complications 4.8 times, and of delayed healing 11.6 times.10 So a rule demanding at least 500 g favours larger operations, which the study linked to more complications.

Package prices hide the follow-up. The Turkish package includes six months of remote consultations.9 If a wound heals slowly at home, that care falls to local services or to another private bill.

A refusal is not always final. The Central East policy allows an individual funding request. Aetna waives its scale above 1 kg removed.13

Breastfeeding. The Central East policy requires patients to be told that the operation may cause permanent loss of the ability to breastfeed.1 That applies wherever it is done.

How to use these rules

Find your own integrated care board's breast reduction policy before you see your GP (general practitioner). Search the board's name with "breast reduction policy". Note its BMI line and whether it asks for a bra fitting and physiotherapy first.

If you are just outside a criterion, ask your GP about an individual funding request. If you are in the US and refused under the Schnur scale, ask your surgeon whether the planned removal exceeds 1 kg. In an appeal, quote the society's coverage criteria.

If you end up paying, compare total packages, not surgeon fees. Then ask who will treat you at home if a wound fails to heal.

1 / 8

The NHS in parts of England funds breast reduction only with a BMI under 27, a cup above GG and 500 g removed per breast. Is that a medical line?

Footnotes

  1. https://www.centraleast.icb.nhs.uk/wp-content/uploads/2026/04/BREAST1-2.pdf — NHS Central East Integrated Care Board, "Breast – Breast Reduction Surgery", v1.0 (ratified Apr 2026). Accessed Oct 3, 2026. ↩ ↩2 ↩3 ↩4 ↩5 ↩6 ↩7 ↩8 ↩9 ↩10 ↩11 ↩12 ↩13 ↩14

  2. https://hnyppr.org.uk/w/breast-reduction-surgery-policy — NHS Humber and North Yorkshire Integrated Care Board, "Breast reduction surgery" policy (effective Mar 2025). Accessed Oct 3, 2026. ↩ ↩2 ↩3 ↩4 ↩5 ↩6 ↩7

  3. https://www.aetna.com/cpb/medical/data/1_99/0017.html — Aetna, Clinical Policy Bulletin 0017, "Breast Reduction Surgery and Gynecomastia Surgery". Accessed Oct 3, 2026. ↩ ↩2 ↩3 ↩4 ↩5 ↩6 ↩7 ↩8 ↩9

  4. https://www.plasticsurgery.org/documents/health-policy/reimbursement/insurance-2021-reduction-mammaplasty.pdf — American Society of Plastic Surgeons, "ASPS Recommended Insurance Coverage Criteria for Third-Party Payers: Reduction Mammaplasty" (reaffirmed Mar 2021). Accessed Oct 3, 2026. ↩ ↩2 ↩3 ↩4 ↩5 ↩6 ↩7 ↩8 ↩9 ↩10 ↩11

  5. https://nuffieldhealth.com/hospitals/leeds/treatments/breast-reduction — Nuffield Health Leeds Hospital, "Breast reduction". Accessed Oct 3, 2026. ↩

  6. https://www.treatcompare.com/treatments/nhs-funded/breast-reduction — TreatCompare, "Breast reduction" (updated May 2026). Accessed Oct 3, 2026. ↩

  7. https://www.plasticsurgery.org/reconstructive-procedures/breast-reduction/costs — American Society of Plastic Surgeons, "How much does breast reduction cost?". Accessed Oct 3, 2026. ↩ ↩2

  8. https://us-uk.bookimed.com/clinics/country=mexico/city=tijuana/procedure=breast-reduction/ — Bookimed, "Breast reduction in Tijuana" (updated Oct 2026). Accessed Oct 3, 2026. ↩ ↩2

  9. https://us-uk.bookimed.com/clinic/clinics-united/procedure=breast-reduction/ — Bookimed, Clinics United (Antalya) breast reduction package (updated Mar 2025). Accessed Oct 3, 2026. ↩ ↩2

  10. https://experts.umn.edu/en/publications/analysis-of-breast-reduction-complications-derived-from-the-bravo/ — Cunningham BL, Gear AJ, Kerrigan CL, Collins ED, "Analysis of Breast Reduction Complications Derived from the BRAVO Study", Plastic and Reconstructive Surgery (published May 2005). Accessed Oct 3, 2026. ↩ ↩2 ↩3

Evidence at a glanceMethodology

StatementSourceTierDateStatus
NHS Central East ICB funds breast reduction only with BMI under 27 stable for 12 months, a cup above GG, 500 g or more per breast (or 4 cup sizes), a 3-month fitted-bra trial and 6 months non-smokingNHS commissioning policy112026-04-01Supported
NHS Humber and North Yorkshire ICB accepts BMI under 30, or under 35 with waist-to-height ratio under 0.5NHS commissioning policy212025-03-01Approximate
Aetna's Schnur-based policy requires 460 g per breast at a body surface area of 1.6 m2 and 935 g at 2.0 m2, waived above 1 kgInsurer clinical policy42--Supported
ASPS recommends coverage based on at least two documented symptoms regardless of body weight or tissue removed, and says non-operative therapy should not be required firstProfessional association312021-03Approximate
In the BRAVO study (179 patients), each tenfold increase in resection weight raised complication risk 4.8 times; overall complication rate 43%Peer-reviewed study512005-05Approximate
Self-pay breast reduction: UK private £6,000-£9,000 (Nuffield Leeds guide £9,020); Tijuana $3,800-$4,000; Turkey package about €3,950Price comparison and provider listings732026-05Supported
By Arthur Harmash8 min read

Reviewed by Arthur Harmash, October 22, 2026

Research compiled with AI assistance; facts and sources verified by Arthur Harmash.

Research & verification

We independently research information from publicly available sources. Claims are cross-checked against multiple sources where possible. When sources disagree, the disagreement is reported rather than resolved by assumption. LymyVoyage does not provide medical advice or make individual treatment recommendations.

Share:

Enjoyed this? Get more like it

Occasional emails, no spam -- just new articles as they're published.

More from Costs & Savings

Dentist working through a dental microscope on a patient, for root canal price on the NHS, privately and abroad
Costs & Savings

Root Canal Cost: NHS £76.60 vs Private UK and Turkey Prices

Root canal cost in England is £76.60 on the NHS, £332.10 with a crown. Private UK: £350-£1,400. Turkey: €130-€400. The hard part is finding an NHS dentist.

8 min read
Woman looking through a phoropter during an eye exam, for comparing LASIK price per eye and for both eyes
Costs & Savings

LASIK Cost: Per Eye or Both Eyes? US, UK, Turkey, Mexico

LASIK cost: US data and a UK chain quote per eye, but booking sites price Turkey and Mexico both ways, so the same $1,500 can mean one eye or two. Ask which.

6 min read
Dental technician holding a jaw model with porcelain teeth, for dental bridge vs implant cost and per-unit pricing
Costs & Savings

Dental Bridge Cost: NHS £332 vs Per-Unit Quotes Abroad

Dental bridge cost: NHS England charges £332.10 for a whole bridge, but clinics in Turkey and Hungary quote per unit, and one bridge is usually three units.

7 min read

Comments

Loading comments…