ACA Premiums 2027 vs 2026: Why Notices Show 33%, Not 13%
LymyVoyage finding
Partially supported by the available data.
Official averages come from KFF and state regulators; the household figures are self-reported Threads posts we could not verify.
Open enrollment for 2027 Affordable Care Act (ACA) marketplace plans began on 1 November 2026. The headline number is a 13% rise in the average benchmark silver premium, according to KFF's analysis of finalized rates.1 That comes on top of a 26% jump from 2025 to 2026, so the same benchmark plan now costs about 42% more than it did two years ago.1

Within a day, renewal notices posted on Threads were telling a different story. A Texas couple saw their plan renew at $17,000 a year, 33% more than in 2026. A family of three in Washington State saw 33.2%. Neither of those is a rounding error on 13%. This piece sets the official averages beside what households report and explains the rules that open the gap.
2026 vs 2027: the official numbers and the notices
| Measure | 2026 | 2027 | Source |
|---|---|---|---|
| Average benchmark silver premium change | +26% | +13% | KFF1 |
| HealthCare.gov states vs state-run marketplaces | +30% / +17% | +11% / +16% | KFF1 |
| Out-of-pocket maximum, one person | $10,600 | $12,000 | healthinsurance.org2 |
| Most a subsidized household pays for the benchmark plan | 9.96% of income | 10.22% of income | IRS34 |
| Subsidy above 4x the poverty line | None | None | IRS4 |
| Washington State, average approved change | n/a | +22.2% | Washington insurance regulator5 |
| New York, average approved change | n/a | +6.0% | New York regulator6 |
The cap applies to households between three and four times the poverty line. It rises from 9.96% of income in 2026, as summarized from the 2026 table of the Internal Revenue Service (IRS), to 10.22% in 2027.34
Mixed stages: New York and Washington are approved averages, Vermont and Arizona are insurers' requests, the national figure is KFF's finalized benchmark average. Household notices are not plotted.
Source: note 3
Show the numbers
| Item | Value |
|---|---|
| Vermont (requested) | 3% |
| New York (approved) | 6% |
| US benchmark average | 13% |
| Washington (approved) | 22% |
| Arizona (requested) | 29% |
What households are posting
These are self-reported figures from public posts on Threads on 1 and 2 November 2026. We could not see the notices themselves, and we do not name the posters. They are a sample of the people who chose to post, not a survey.
| Household (as posted) | 2026 | 2027 | Change |
|---|---|---|---|
| Couple buying on the marketplace, Texas | about $12,800 a year (our estimate from their 33%) | $17,000 a year | +33% |
| Family of three, Washington exchange | $2,253.94 a month | $3,002.87 a month | +33.2% |
| Husband's renewal notice | not stated | $25,767 a year | +17% (+$375 a month) |
| Wife's plan, $7,000 deductible | not stated | over $17,000 a year | +$248 a month |
| Single adult, $6,400 deductible | not stated | $14,000 a year | not stated |
| Family losing all tax credit | not stated | $1,885.23 a month, cheapest Bronze | not stated |
The Texas couple added that 2027 costs more than double what they paid in Minnesota in 2025. The single adult's plan also carries a $10,300 out-of-pocket maximum and pays only 60% of covered costs after the deductible. That post drew about 1,500 likes.
Two posts pushed against the pattern. One household will pay $148 a month less in 2027, but only by moving to a closed health maintenance organization (HMO) network. They give up their primary care doctor, their therapist and every specialist. They still expect to spend about $25,245 on care for two adults.
A small-business owner who pays half of staff premiums faces another 25% increase and says half the employees have already dropped coverage.
Why your number is not 13%
The 13% is an average of one plan type, the second-cheapest silver plan in each area. Your notice prices your plan, at your age, in your county, with your subsidy. Five things move it away from the average.
1. Your state and your insurer
State averages already spread from about 3% in Vermont to 29% requested in Arizona.7 Arizona's regulator can judge whether a rise is reasonable but cannot reject it, as reported by Insurance Business citing Arizona Public Media.7 New York went the other way. Insurers asked for 20.6% and the state cut it to 6.0%.6
Inside one state, insurers differ even more. Washington approved an average of 22.2%, but Community Health Plan of Washington got 30.5% and Regence BlueShield 6.7%.5 The Washington family's 33.2% sits above even the highest insurer average, which points to the other factors below.
2. Earning more than four times the poverty line
Above that line there is no premium tax credit at all, so you pay the full price and every percent of the increase.4 For 2027 coverage the line is set with the 2026 poverty guidelines. Four times those guidelines is $63,840 for one person and $132,000 for a family of four.8
KFF showed how sharp this edge is with a 60-year-old in the same city. At $62,000 a year, a tax credit held the benchmark premium to $6,175. At $64,000 there was no credit, and the same plan cost $14,931.9 Those are KFF's 2026 illustrations, but the cliff rule is unchanged for 2027.
3. Age
Insurers may charge the oldest adults up to three times what they charge the youngest, under federal rating rules.10 So the same percentage increase is a bigger dollar increase for someone in their 50s or 60s. KFF found the cliff hits older middle-income buyers hardest for exactly this reason.9
4. A subsidy pegged to someone else's plan
Your tax credit is set by the benchmark silver plan in your area, not by your own plan.2 If your plan rises faster than the benchmark, you absorb the whole difference. If the benchmark plan gets cheaper relative to others, your credit shrinks even when your plan barely moved.
That is how a subsidized buyer with a near-zero net premium can receive a letter forecasting a four-figure percentage increase. One poster shared a letter estimating 1,054.61%. A small base makes any dollar change look enormous.
5. Your insurer leaving
As of 29 October, 11 insurers had announced they are leaving at least one state for 2027, and Cigna is leaving the individual market in all 11 of its states.1 Insurers are leaving the marketplace in more than 20 states, and exits outnumber entries.2 If you do nothing, the marketplace will auto-renew you into a plan it picks, which may not keep your doctors or your price.2
Why this is not only the marketplace
Employer plans are rising too, which matters if you are weighing a job with benefits. Mercer projects per-employee benefit costs up 8.2% in 2027 after employers cut plans, and about 11% if they changed nothing.11 Mercer calls it the highest increase since 2003. Other consultancies put the 2027 figure higher. We compared their forecasts in why 2027 employer health forecasts range from 8.2% to 11.1%.
Medicare is the calmer line. The Medicare trustees project the 2027 Part B premium at $209.50 a month, up from $202.90, as reported by AARP.12 Treat that as a projection until the official figure is announced this fall.
Washington's regulator names the drivers behind its rates. Providers and drug makers are charging more, members are using more care, and healthier people are leaving the market. The end of the enhanced tax credits speeds up that last effect.5 KFF counts the exit: individual-market enrollment fell from 25.2 million to 20.5 million by June 2026.1
For a sense of scale beyond the US, see what one adult pays for basic cover in Switzerland, the Netherlands and Germany in 2027.
What the headline numbers leave out
The premium is half the bill. The out-of-pocket maximum rises to $12,000 for one person in 2027, up from $10,600.2 A court in July 2026 stayed a rule that would have let some Bronze plans go to $15,600.2 A cheaper plan can still cost more once you are sick.
The averages are not finished. Insurance Business reported in October that Texas, Florida and California, three of the biggest marketplaces, had not finalized rates.7 There is no official Texas average to compare with the Texas couple's 33%.
The Threads figures are unverified. They are what people typed, from the people angry enough to post. They show what renewal looks like for some households. They cannot show how common a 33% notice is.
Catastrophic plans are mostly off the table. A July 2026 court stay put back the old limits. If you are 30 or older you need a hardship or affordability exemption to buy one.2
How to check your own notice
Put your notice beside three numbers. First, your state's approved average, from your insurance regulator. Second, your household income against $63,840 for one person or $132,000 for four.8 Third, whether your insurer is leaving.
If your income sits just above the line, check how the marketplace counts income before you assume you are over it, because one dollar decides the whole credit. Then log in and compare plans before your marketplace's deadline rather than accepting the auto-renewal.2 If your plan is ending, shopping is the only way to choose what replaces it.
ACA premiums 2027 vs 2026: the average benchmark plan rises 13%. Yet renewal notices posted on Threads show 33%. Is the average wrong, or is it measuring something else?
Footnotes
-
https://www.kff.org/affordable-care-act/9-things-to-watch-for-the-2027-aca-open-enrollment-period/ -- KFF, "9 Things to Watch for the 2027 ACA Open Enrollment Period" (published Oct 2026). Accessed Nov 2, 2026. ↩ ↩2 ↩3 ↩4 ↩5 ↩6
-
https://www.healthinsurance.org/blog/2027-aca-open-enrollment-whats-changing/ -- healthinsurance.org (Louise Norris), "2027 ACA open enrollment: What's changing" (published Sep 2026). Accessed Nov 2, 2026. ↩ ↩2 ↩3 ↩4 ↩5 ↩6 ↩7 ↩8
-
https://www.currentfederaltaxdevelopments.com/blog/2025/7/18/rev-proc-2025-25-a-technical-review-of-2026-premium-tax-credit-and-affordability-adjustments -- Current Federal Tax Developments, "Rev. Proc. 2025-25: A Technical Review of 2026 Premium Tax Credit and Affordability Adjustments", summarizing the IRS's 2026 Applicable Percentage Table (published Jul 2025). Accessed Nov 2, 2026. ↩ ↩2
-
https://www.irs.gov/pub/irs-drop/rp-26-26.pdf -- Internal Revenue Service, "Rev. Proc. 2026-26", 2027 Applicable Percentage Table (published Jul 2026). Accessed Nov 2, 2026. ↩ ↩2 ↩3 ↩4
-
https://www.insurance.wa.gov/about-us/news/2026/average-222-rate-increase-approved-washingtons-2027-exchange-health-insurance-market -- Washington State Office of the Insurance Commissioner, "Average 22.2% rate increase approved for Washington's 2027 Exchange health insurance market" (published Sep 2026). Accessed Nov 2, 2026. ↩ ↩2 ↩3
-
https://www.dfs.ny.gov/reports_and_publications/press_releases/pr20260904 -- New York State Department of Financial Services, 2027 health insurance rate decision press release (published Sep 2026). Accessed Nov 2, 2026. ↩ ↩2
-
https://www.insurancebusinessmag.com/us/news/benefits/aca-premiums-2027-how-much-rates-are-rising-in-every-state-592423.aspx -- Insurance Business, "ACA premiums 2027: how much rates are rising in every state", citing Peterson-KFF Health System Tracker and state regulators (published Oct 2026). Accessed Nov 2, 2026. ↩ ↩2 ↩3
-
https://aspe.hhs.gov/topics/poverty-economic-mobility/poverty-guidelines -- US Department of Health and Human Services, ASPE, "Poverty Guidelines" (2026 guidelines, published Jan 2026). Accessed Nov 2, 2026. ↩ ↩2
-
https://www.kff.org/quick-take/a-steep-subsidy-cliff-looms-for-older-middle-income-enrollees-if-aca-enhanced-tax-credits-expire/ -- KFF (Shameek Rakshit), "A Steep Subsidy Cliff Looms for Older Middle-Income Enrollees if ACA Enhanced Tax Credits Expire" (published Oct 2025). Accessed Nov 2, 2026. ↩ ↩2
-
https://www.cms.gov/marketplace/private-health-insurance/market-rating-reforms -- Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services, "Market Rating Reforms". Accessed Nov 2, 2026. ↩
-
https://www.mercer.com/en-us/insights/us-health-news/survey-health-benefit-costs-expected-to-jump-in-2027/ -- Mercer, "Survey: Health benefit costs expected to jump in 2027" (published Aug 2026). Accessed Nov 2, 2026. ↩
-
https://www.aarp.org/medicare/medicare-part-b-premium-2027/ -- AARP, citing the 2026 Medicare Trustees Report, "Medicare Part B premium 2027" (published Oct 2026). Accessed Nov 2, 2026. ↩
Evidence at a glanceMethodology
| Statement | Source | Tier | Date | Status |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| The average benchmark silver premium rises 13% for 2027, after a 26% rise for 2026 | Independent health policy research organization1 | 2 | 2026-10-30 | Approximate |
| Washington approved an average 22.2% increase for 2027 exchange plans, ranging 6.7% to 30.5% by insurer | State insurance regulator4 | 1 | 2026-09-09 | Supported |
| New York cut insurers' 20.6% individual-market request to 6.0% for 2027 | State insurance regulator5 | 1 | 2026-09-04 | Supported |
| The most a subsidized household pays for the benchmark plan rises from 9.96% of income in 2026 to 10.22% in 2027; no credit above 400% of the poverty line | Federal tax agency guidance6 | 1 | 2026-07-21 | Supported |
| Four times the poverty line for 2027 coverage is $63,840 for one person and $132,000 for a family of four | Federal poverty guidelines (derived) 2026 HHS poverty guidelines ($15,960 and $33,000, 48 states) multiplied by 4; 2027 coverage uses the prior year's guidelines. | 1 | 2026-01-15 | Approximate |
| Out-of-pocket maximum for one person rises from $10,600 in 2026 to $12,000 in 2027 | Consumer health insurance publication2 | 4 | 2026-09-02 | Supported |
| Insurers may vary premiums by age within a 3:1 ratio for adults | Federal regulator8 | 1 | -- | Supported |
| Mercer projects employer per-employee benefit costs up 8.2% in 2027 after plan changes, about 11% without | Benefits consultancy survey10 | 3 | 2026-08-31 | Supported |
| The Medicare trustees project the 2027 Part B premium at $209.50 a month, up from $202.90 | News report citing the 2026 Medicare Trustees Report11 | 4 | 2026-10-05 | Approximate |
Enjoyed this? Get more like it
Occasional emails, no spam -- just new articles as they're published.
More from Healthcare Costs & Spending

Catastrophic Health Costs in Europe: Under 2% to Over 14%
Catastrophic health spending affects under 2% of households in Sweden and the UK but over 14% in Latvia and Ukraine. The same country can appear at 2.1%, 8% and over 10% depending on which threshold the dataset uses -- here is what each figure measures.
Comments
Loading comments…

