Title: Breast Implant Warranty Abroad: Whose Terms Apply?
Author: Arthur Harmash
Published: 2026-10-29
Source: https://lymyvoyage.com/articles/breast-implant-warranty-abroad
Citations:
- https://app-cdn.motiva.health/documents/Motiva+New+warranties_ANZ+T%26C.pdf
- https://drupal.motivausa.com/sites/default/files/2024-09/Motiva%20USA%20Warranty%20Program_2024.09.26.pdf
- https://website-cdn.motiva.health/wp-content/uploads/2023/01/PT_CAM-2473-Extended-Warranties-update.pdf
- https://www.jnjmedtech.com/system/files/pdf/MentorPromise%20Saline%20TandC%202021%20Final_0.pdf
- https://www.jnjmedtech.com/sites/default/files/user_uploaded_assets/pdf_assets/2020-01/2194066_Mentor%20Promise%20Protection%20Plan_FREIGABE_1.pdf
- https://www.editionplasticsurgery.com/journal/everything-you-need-to-know-about-breast-implant-warranties/
- https://www.accessdata.fda.gov/cdrh_docs/pdf23/P230005C.pdf

---

Breast implant makers promise to replace a ruptured implant for life. Motiva's own US label, approved by the US Food and Drug Administration, says implants "are not considered lifetime devices".[^7] The promise comes from the manufacturer, not the clinic, so it should follow the patient home. Whether it does depends on terms that sit in PDFs on the makers' websites.

We read six sets of warranty terms from Motiva, Mentor and Allergan, the three brands below. Each one is written for a particular market. Each one sets conditions on the surgeon, the paperwork and the deadlines. None of the terms reviewed says what happens to a patient who flies home after surgery abroad.

## Six warranty documents compared

| Warranty terms | Covers implants implanted in | Rupture | Money toward surgery | Conditions |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Motiva, US (Sept 2024) | US and Puerto Rico[^2] | Free replacement for life[^2] | Up to $3,500 within 10 years[^2] | Surgeon pre-authorises before surgery; implant returned within 30 days; patient signs a release[^2] |
| Motiva, Australia and New Zealand (Mar 2026) | Australia and New Zealand[^1] | Free replacement for life[^1] | Up to $1,500 within 10 years[^1] | Surgeon's clinical report; ruptured implant sent to Costa Rica[^1] |
| Motiva, Portuguese-language terms (2022) | Not stated[^3] | Free replacement for life[^3] | None in the free warranty; $1,000 or $2,500 in paid plans bought within 90 days[^3] | Surgeon files the claim; implant returned within 10 days[^3] |
| Mentor, German-language terms (2019) | Not stated; issued by Mentor Deutschland[^5] | Free replacement, whatever the implant's age[^5] | Up to €1,000 within 10 years, paid via the surgeon[^5] | No cover for implants the doctor did not buy from Mentor[^5] |
| Mentor, US saline (2021) | US and Puerto Rico[^4] | Free replacement[^4] | $2,400 with a $200 plan bought within 45 days[^4] | Licensed physician; implant returned within 60 days[^4] |
| Allergan Natrelle, US, as summarised by a US surgeon (2020) | Not stated in the summary[^6] | Free replacement for life[^6] | Up to $3,500 within 10 years[^6] | Automatic enrolment[^6] |

## The terms follow the operating table

Motiva's US programme "covers and applies to all Motiva breast implants that are implanted in patients in the United States or Puerto Rico".[^2] Its Australian and New Zealand terms apply to implants "implanted in patients in Australia or New Zealand".[^1] Mentor's US saline terms use the same wording for the US and Puerto Rico.[^4]

So the deciding fact is where the operation happened, not where the patient lives. A US resident with Motiva implants fitted in Mexico is outside the US programme's own wording. That patient would fall under whatever terms, if any, Motiva applies to implants fitted in Mexico.

We looked for country terms for Turkey and Mexico on the three makers' sites and did not find any published. Motiva's Portuguese-language terms state no country at all.[^3]

## The surgeon files the claim

Under every set of Motiva terms reviewed, the claim runs through a surgeon. In the US, "the patient's surgeon must initiate the claims process and obtain pre-authorization in advance of any revision or explant surgery".[^2] The Portuguese-language terms also say the patient's surgeon registers the claim.[^3]

The paperwork is specific. The US form asks for the implant's reference, serial and lot numbers, volume and type, signed by the treating surgeon.[^2] The removed implant has to be cleaned and sent back to the maker: within 30 days under the US terms,[^2] within 10 days under the Portuguese-language ones.[^3]

Mentor's German-language terms add a twist on the money. Any financial help for a revision "must be applied for by your surgeon", and it is not a payment to the patient directly.[^5]

After surgery abroad, that surgeon is usually at home. Nothing in the terms bars it, but they need the original implant details for the form.

## What "lifetime" actually pays for

The lifetime promise is a replacement implant. The cash toward the operation is capped and time-limited.

Motiva's US programme pays up to $3,500 toward a rupture revision within 10 years.[^2] The Australian and New Zealand version pays up to $1,500,[^1] and Mentor's German-language terms €1,000.[^5] A US surgeon's 2020 summary puts Allergan's figure at up to $3,500 for rupture.[^6] We could not open Allergan's own terms to check it.

Motiva's Portuguese-language terms pay nothing toward surgery under the free warranty. Money comes only with a paid plan: $100 for two years and up to $1,000, or $200 for five years and up to $2,500.[^3] Both have to be bought and registered within 90 days of the operation.[^3]

## The deadlines that run out quietly

Motiva's US patients are enrolled once the surgeon uploads the implant details, and they confirm by email.[^2] The paid upgrades are different. Motiva's US Plus plan costs $250 and must be bought within 90 days.[^2] Mentor's US saline plan must be bought within 45 days.[^4]

For a patient abroad, those are the weeks spent recovering and travelling home.

## What the warranty terms leave out

- **No published terms for the main destinations.** We found no Motiva, Mentor or Allergan terms for Turkey or Mexico.
- **Implants from outside the official channel.** Mentor's German-language terms exclude implants the treating doctor did not obtain from Mentor or its authorised buyer.[^5]
- **Surgery done "in strict accordance" with the instructions.** Motiva's Portuguese-language terms exclude implants placed without following its directions for use.[^3] A patient has no way to check that from the recovery room.
- **The release.** Motiva's US terms require the patient to sign a full release of further liability in return for the benefits.[^2]
- **Rupture is uncommon early on.** In Motiva's US study, the three-year risk of rupture was 0.6% per patient after a first augmentation.[^7] Risks grow the longer implants stay in, the same label says,[^7] so the warranty matters more in later years than in the first.

## What to get before you leave the clinic

Ask for the implant card or sticker with the brand, model, serial and lot numbers for each side. Ask the clinic to confirm in writing that the implants were bought from the manufacturer or its authorised distributor.

Ask which country's warranty terms apply, and get a copy. Register the implants yourself if the maker allows it, and keep the confirmation email. Our article on [breast augmentation in Turkey](/articles/breast-augmentation-turkey-your-implant-s-record-stays-there) covers the other half of the record: the registry at home.

<Carousel>

Motiva and Mentor promise a free replacement if an implant ruptures, for life. Does that promise still work if you had the surgery abroad?

The terms are written per country. Motiva's US programme covers implants "implanted in patients in the United States or Puerto Rico". Its Australian terms cover Australia and New Zealand.

The claim runs through a surgeon. Under Motiva's US terms, the surgeon must get pre-authorisation before the revision and return the removed implant within 30 days, with its serial and lot numbers.

In fairness, rupture is uncommon early on. Motiva's US study found a 0.6% risk per patient after three years, and the free US cover starts automatically.

What we could not find: published warranty terms for Turkey or Mexico from any of the three makers. The money toward surgery is capped too: €1,000 to $3,500 in the free cover reviewed, and nothing in one version.

Leave the clinic with the brand, model, serial and lot numbers, and a copy of the warranty terms that apply. Save this before you book.

</Carousel>

[^1]: https://app-cdn.motiva.health/documents/Motiva+New+warranties_ANZ+T%26C.pdf — Establishment Labs, "Motiva Health Warranty Program (Australia and New Zealand)" terms and conditions (effective Mar 1, 2026). Accessed Oct 29, 2026.
[^2]: https://drupal.motivausa.com/sites/default/files/2024-09/Motiva%20USA%20Warranty%20Program_2024.09.26.pdf — Motiva USA, "Motiva USA Warranty Program" terms (effective Sep 26, 2024). Accessed Oct 29, 2026.
[^3]: https://website-cdn.motiva.health/wp-content/uploads/2023/01/PT_CAM-2473-Extended-Warranties-update.pdf — Establishment Labs, "Implantes mamários Motiva: Política de garantia e substituição do produto: Termos e condições" (Portuguese-language terms, dated Sep 2022). Accessed Oct 29, 2026.
[^4]: https://www.jnjmedtech.com/system/files/pdf/MentorPromise%20Saline%20TandC%202021%20Final_0.pdf — Mentor Worldwide, "Mentor Promise and Mentor Promise Enhanced Protection Plan for Saline-Filled Breast Implants" (implants from Jan 1, 2021). Accessed Oct 29, 2026.
[^5]: https://www.jnjmedtech.com/sites/default/files/user_uploaded_assets/pdf_assets/2020-01/2194066_Mentor%20Promise%20Protection%20Plan_FREIGABE_1.pdf — Mentor Deutschland, "MentorPromise-Schutzplan" patient information (German-language, Nov 2019). Accessed Oct 29, 2026.
[^6]: https://www.editionplasticsurgery.com/journal/everything-you-need-to-know-about-breast-implant-warranties/ — Robert Schwartz, Edition Plastic Surgery (US practice), "Breast Implant Warranties: What Every Patient Should Know" (published Apr 4, 2020). Accessed Oct 29, 2026.
[^7]: https://www.accessdata.fda.gov/cdrh_docs/pdf23/P230005C.pdf — Motiva USA and Establishment Labs, "Information for the Patient: Breast Augmentation with Motiva Implants", FDA-approved labeling (Jun 2024). Accessed Oct 29, 2026.
